Yogi Cameron Diet – Week 7 Review

So I am already on week seven of the Yogi Cameron diet. The diet rules remain the same this week as for other weeks. The spiritual emphasis is on refraining from sex. Yogi Cameron suggests it takes away your energy from more important things like developing your spiritual practice. I think this idea will be very hard for most Western people where we are taught that a healthy sex life is good for us. I think when I was younger I would have scoffed but now I am older I can see some wisdom in it. My interest in all matters sexual has certainly waned in recent years. Yogi Cameron even abandoned a relationship to concentrate on Yogidom. You have to admire the dedication that I think most people could not emulate.

I have felt better than last week though I think I am still a little under the weather and get tired easily. I have discovered the joys of stewed fruit for breakfast. This is recommended as part of an ayurvedic diet as it is easy on the digestion. Just add water to fruit and simmer for a while. Add a little sugar though nowhere near as much as they tell you to in traditional cook books. The result is divine. It works for lots of kinds of fruits like cooking apples, pears. I have even tried strawberries and nectarines.

I have been sticking to the vegetable curries and rice for lunch. I have been doing much better this week on the no alcohol rule though I did have two glasses of wine on Thursday when I went out for a Thai meal. It was easy to stick to ayurvedic principles in Thai food. I had a vegetable curry with rice. I should have resisted the wine but I didn’t.

I still haven’t lost any weight. Sigh. To do this I think I am going to have to make some  significant changes to the diet.

I have kept up yoga and meditation. I am now meditating for twenty minutes. I am more successful in going deep on some days rather than others. I feel calm and I am not so bothered by negative events as I used to be. I am learning to manage stress and to bounce back from setbacks. I think I still need more help in this area. I really need to believe in myself as a trainee yogi and convince myself I can do it.

Onwards.

Leave a Reply

