Notes from the Old Chapel – Dog days of summer

Another peaceful week has whizzed by in rural Norfolk. I was busy with a wedding anniversary and husband’s birthday. This involved breaks from dieting as I had two meals out to celebrate the occasions. I do believe in marking things though and that you can be too strict with lifestyle things. For our anniversary we went to the Sainsbury’s Art Centre in Norwich, saw two very good exhibitions and had lunch in the cafe. Parisian photography and Parisian art. Just my kind of thing. Excellent. For husband’s birthday we went to the Dial House in Reepham. This is a Georgian  house made into a swanky b and b and restaurant. The restaurant is quirky with lots of antiques dotted around. Everything is for sale including the chairs you ar sitting on. Meals are served on mismatched vintage plates. It has a certain charm. I managed to stay  vegetarian with an aubergine and cheese dish. I quite enjoyed it though the food is not absolutely top notch, more rustic. I found mine lacking in flavour.

I have been dotting around the area doing various tasks. I keep getting lost on the country roads having absolutely no sense of direction. It seems like I always end up on the way to Norwich whichever way I start out. The local roads are mostly single track which has its own etiquette. I am getting the hang of it. My doctor’s appointment involved a very twisty twiny journey so it was  a relief to discover at my health check that I am in perfect health. I had to celebrate by getting lost on the way back.

We are having a typically English summer with lots of rain and cloud with occasional bursts of sunshine. Is it just me or did summers used to be sunnier?

So I am bursting with health and my mood has been quite good. Health inside and out. I have been writing regularly and I feel like my characters are really taking off.

Our sewage treatment facility seems to be screwed and is now overflowing with any water usage whatsoever so I will have to have it looked at. There are perils in rural living.

My dog Didi has settled well into rural life and has now turned into a lazy bones who would rather lounge around the house and garden rather than go on long walks. I seem keener than him on the walking thing. The cat, Monty, is still too scared to go outside for some reason and is hiding in the utility room. He is a strange one.

I have bought a beautiful oak kitchen table which has chairs that look like they were hewn in a fairy tale. This fits in with my new found Mrs Tiggywinkle vibe.

All is good.

 

Leave a Reply

