Continuing the Yogi Cameron Diet

So I am continuing with the Yogi Cameron Diet. I revisited weeks 1 and 2 as I fell off the wagon during my house move.

I am feeling healthy and I have more energy. I have been practising yoga for half an hour each morning and then meditating. I have also begun jogging for half an hour each day. This is not a suggested part of the programme but I am enjoying it. Today I even managed a full hour of jogging. I am not a natural runner by any means but I am beginning to find a steady rhythm that is easy to keep up. It is inspiring to run around the fields and lanes where I live as they are full of wildlife and the sun is out this week.

For my diet I have been having all natural wholefoods. I have fruit for breakfast or a fruit smoothie, a curry and rice for lunch and a small snack at 5 pm such as nuts or peanut butter. I managed to make almost everything organic this week. I have been drinking water, hot water and herbal tea. I got a delivery from Waitrose which made it easy. Sadly I have not lost any weight. My body holds on to weight and refuses to let it go. I know it will be a long process and I am focusing more on health than weight loss. I do feel good. There is still some heaviness but it is lifting. I have been getting up very early at five or so and going to bed early at around nine or ten. I have been more productive, getting things done around the house and garden and organising my writing work. I feel I am improving.

I have incorporated a lot of dog walking into the routine. This is not part of the program but this is something I love to do. I have walked my dog so much that he sometimes pulls back on the lead and wants to go back home.

I have really enjoyed making the curries for lunch and thinking how good they are for me with all the beneficial spices. The recipe is really simple. This is how I have been doing it.

Put the basmati rice on to boil with plenty of water. I have brown organic basmati and I have found it takes about thirty-five minutes to cook.While the rice is cooking put a tablespoon of coconut oil in a pan and let it melt. Then add mustard seeds and cumin seeds when the oil is hot. When the mustard seeds start to pop add the vegetables you are using. I have been using seasonal organic vegetables including cauliflower, courgettes, spinach, mushrooms and potatoes. Stir in the  dry spices. I have been using combinations of coriander, turmeric, chilli and garam masala. Stir everything together and add enough water to cover the vegetables. Leave to simmer. You can add chopped tomatoes at this stage for a richer sauce if you want. The curry and rice should be ready at about the same time.

As I haven’t lost weight I am going to have to eat a lot less next week. I am going to cut out the fruit smoothies and just go for whole fruit and cut my lunch time portion size.

In my mind I have been concentrating on non-violence. I did ruin this one day by having an argument with my husband. In general I have been feeling calm and peaceful. I do have a sense of well being though this has varied on different days.

Here’s to the life of a yogi.

Leave a Reply

