Recovery from depression-A healing diet

I have had chronic fatigue syndrome and mild depression for over a year now. Some days everything I do is a struggle. Getting out of bed takes Herculean will power. I often have no energy. I force myself to exercise and to do things. I can’t write. I have been to the GP. They took my bloods and found nothing wrong – no further action. I still feel the same.  As I am getting no help from conventional medicine I need to take things into my own hands. I need to heal myself once and for all.

I came across Yogi Cameron on the Wellbeing Channel while flicking one evening. He heals people using healthy diet, yoga and ayurvedic treatments. I was impressed.

So I found an internet article where he details his diet. He starts the day with warm water. Mid-morning he has a banana. Lunch is  organic vegetables with white basmati rice and curry spices. In the evening he has hardly anything: rice cakes with peanut butter. His exercise is yoga. This is spartan but sounds effective. I have done so many fad diets. I need to stop thinking in terms of diets and more in terms of lifestyle change.  I must not backslide and start downing wine and pizza and chips because the scale isn’t moving as fast as I would like.

I have been approximating Yogi Cameron’s diet for two days now. My starting weight is 59.4 kg. I want to get down to 50 kg. I have done this before and then put it all back on again. This time it’s going to be different.

Today’s meal Plan:

On waking: black coffee

Breakfast: Scottish strawberries with Greek full fat yoghurt with natural fruit syrup.

Half hour dog walk

Black coffee

Meditation and yoga session

Lunch: White rice with curried vegetables: organic carrots, turnip and onions.

Black tea

Half hour dog walk

Dinner: organic broad beans with extra virgin olive oil and black pepper.

Lemon water

So I am not quite as spartan as Yogi Cameron but it’s not too bad.

All my vegetables are organic from Riverford organics. The rest of my ingredients come from Sainsburys. I am trying to eat all natural organic wholefoods as much as possible.

I know I need to get rid of the caffeine but that’s going to be hard. I might go cold turkey tomorrow.

I felt quite energised in the morning but this wore off by mid afternoon when I felt tired again. My mood is medium but much better than some days. I have even been humming to myself. Meditation and yoga make me feel calm.

I will keep you posted from time to time as to how I am getting on with the diet. I am a real believer that foods can heal me. I have downloaded Yogi Cameron’s book so I might get more ideas from that.

Here’s hoping for success this time.

Leave a Reply

