Spiritual experience – Vision of Jesus

When  was about ten I had a vision of Jesus. I was lying in bed at night and worrying about nuclear holocaust. This was a real threat in the late seventies. We seemed to live constantly on the brink of Armageddon. I think I had read an article in the Daily Mirror which set my imagination off. I had horrible images in my head of the world completely laid waste, arid and barren. It terrified me. Just as I was feeling on the edge of total despair a vision of Jesus appeared to me. He was standing at the end of the bed, completely clothed in white with his arms outsretched. He looked exactly as he does in all those Renaissance paintings of him with long brown hair except he seemed more ethereal, sort of luminous. He did not seem to speak and yet I heard his words in my head saying over and over again, “It’s all right. Everything is going to be all right.” I felt an incredibly sense of unconditional love and as if some great powerful being was holding me in his arms. It was a sense of love and security like I had never felt before and I never have again.

I didn’t have a religious upbringing. My parents were virtual Communists and always scoffed. I didn’t tell anyone about the experience. I had had some religious input at school and I did have a children’s Bible but that was about it. I didn’t go to Church. From that day I always felt that God was real and that it had been an authentic experience. As I got older the rational part of my brain tried to tell me it was an illusion, that I had just created it in my mind to comfort myself. Perhaps but the sense of love and peace was quite overwhelming. I can’t usually conjure such things. I buried the vision for a long time and didn’t talk about it. I had a small Christian faith which I kind of kept through thick and thin though I didn’t really develop it. I have always felt interested in spiritual things and read about them. I had a pagan witch phase and a spiritualist phase but I didn’t feel fulfilled by them.

In the years since my nervous break down I have come back to Jesus and the long forgotten vision. I have found that a combination of Buddhism and Christianity has helped me to develop my spiritual connection. I am still at a very early stage and I have been a lone practitioner so far. I know I need to speak to others to progress further and join something. I pray  and meditate every day and often read the Bible. It has helped me to find meaning in my life. I know many will dismiss my vision but it remains one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I need to overcome my doubts and embrace its message. It was sent to me for a reason and I must find out what that reason is. I wish it could happen again but nothing so powerful has ever happened since. I live in hope.

Leave a Reply

