Book Review The Philosopher and the Wolf Mark Rowlands

I bought this in the English Bookshop in Amsterdam. I was struck by the cover which portrayed a very beautiful wolf.  I  studied Philosophy as my first degree but have let my interest lie fallow for many years. 

The book describes the relationship between a young Philosophy professor and his pet wolf over the span of ten years. It is a true story. Rowlands is dysfunctional, misanthropic and alcoholic. The wolf teaches him lessons about life, particularly through the animal’s death from cancer.

I enjoyed the book. It is an easy read and the philosophy is accessible. It sparked my interest in reading more of it again. I don’t necessarily agree with Rowland’s conclusions about life but the exposition was interesting. Cynical philosopher that he us even a mystical experience is not enough to convince him of the spiritual nature of life though he comes closer to it.
image

2 thoughts on “Book Review The Philosopher and the Wolf Mark Rowlands

Leave a Reply

