Book Review Russell Brand Revolution

image

I enjoyed this book.

Like many people I didn’t used to be very keen on Russell Brand. He came into my consciousness as someone who was a not very funny comedian and a sex addict. Someone told me a story about his behaviour at the Edinburgh Festival. Apparently women were lining up outside his room and he would come to the door in his pants and have sex with each one in turn. Ugh!

Anyway after his divorce and other difficulties he has discovered spirituality, transcendental meditation, and he is alcohol and drug free. His ideas seem to be a fusion of Hinduism and Buddhism. Gandhi is a hero. Politically, he leans heavily on Chomsky. All of this is good in my book.

Brand spends a lot of the book describing his own journey and then sets out his ideas for revolution. So what are these ideas? Thankfully, he is not into a violent, bloody revolution. He is more interested in raising the spiritual consciousness of people. I am all for this. He cites principles that come from addiction recovery programmes. Nothing wrong with this either. Brand is interested in empowering people at local level: growing your own food, workers’ co-operatives. Nothing wrong with that in my view.

Where I part company with him is the exhortation not to vote and not to pay taxes. As far as I can see this will lead people into trouble and allow the right wing parties to continue to stay in power.

The book is an easy read and often very funny. The style is chatty so it’s just like Russell talking to you. I do think he has made spiritual and political ideas accessible to everyone.

Interesting stuff. Let’s see what happens.

Vive la revolution!

2 thoughts on “Book Review Russell Brand Revolution

  1. Really interesting to read the thoughts of someone who has had their opinion of Brand changed – all this talk of revolution has certainly brought him to a wider audience, and that can only be good for the cause! There are so many stories flying around about Brand and his questionable behaviour that it’s hard to know what to believe and what not to – I think, though, that his spirituality has been important to him for some time. This I find a bit difficult to process as a largely unspiritual person, but I find Brand a really engaging voice.

    My review: Revolution by Russell Brand

Leave a Reply

