Review of the Skinnybitch diet

I have been on the Skinnybitch diet for a week. Here is what I ate.

 

Monday 
Breakfast: Mango, banana, kiwi and soy yogurt 
Lunch: Spinach salad w/ shredded carrots, chopped almonds, red onion, fresh garlic, cubed tofu and sesame oil 
Dinner: Pasta with zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, fresh parsley, pine nuts and olive oil 

Tuesday 
Breakfast: Fresh squeezed orange juice, whole grain muffin with soy butter, banana and strawberries 
Lunch: Tabouli salad with marinated tofu, eggplant, and red peppers 
Dinner: Veggie nachos – corn chips with veggie chili, soy cheese, guacamole, scallions and tomatoes 

Wednesday 
Breakfast: Fresh squeezed grapefruit juice and slow-cooked oatmeal with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries 
Lunch: Veggie burger on whole grain bun with red onion, lettuce, tomato, avocado, and alfalfa sprouts. Served with vegan potato salad. 
Dinner: Fake chicken patty with brown rice, lentils and steamed kale. 

Thursday 
Breakfast: Fresh squeezed OJ, whole grain bagel with vegan cream cheese, sliced tomato and red onion 
Lunch: Soup and salad 
Dinner: Veggie stir-fry with peppers, onions, garlic, carrots, bok choy, and mushrooms served with brown rice and tofu 

Friday 
Breakfast: Granola with sliced banana, peaches and blueberries with soy yogurt 
Lunch: Club sandwich with fake bacon, fake turkey slices, avocado, lettuce, tomato, sprouts and Vegenaise (fake mayo). Served with three-bean salad 
Dinner: Take out from your favorite Thai restaurant: vegan Pad Thai, emphasizing no egg or shrimp or fish stock 

Saturday 
Breakfast: Fresh squeezed OJ, blue corn and blueberry pancakes served with fresh strawberries 
Lunch: Salad with shredded carrots, couscous, cranberries and walnuts, dressed with citrus vinaigrette. Served with lentil soup 
Dinner: Veggie fajitas with sauteed peppers, onions and mushrooms, and fake chicken strips, topped with fresh pico de gallo 

Sunday 
Breakfast: Fresh squeezed OJ and tofu scramble with zucchini, peppers, onions, garlic, spinach and kale served with whole grain toast 
Lunch: Lentil salad with asparagus tips and walnuts in a raspberry vinaigrette. Served with an entire steamed artichoke and a vegan lemon-butter dipping sauce 
Dinner: No-cheese or vegan-cheese pizza loaded with veggies 

Skinnybitch is a diet book which came out a few years ago in the US and went on to be a bestseller. It extols the virtues of a vegan diet and has lots of information about animal cruelty in the factory farming system.

I had already been a vegan for a few months before I started this diet so veganism wasn’t a shock to my system. I wanted to shift the last ten pounds to get to my ideal vanity weight of 50 kg. I combined the diet with exercise: twenty minutes of yoga and Jillian Michael’s Thirty Day Shred DVD.

I felt great on the diet. I had  some energy and my skin felt really clear. I spent about £70 on the ingredients and that was enough for two so it wasn’t expensive. I stuck to it rigidly but I did cheat by having a couple of glasses of red wine on Thursday and Saturday. I really enjoyed making the meals, many of which were delicious. I didn’t like the reliance on fake meat products as I prefer to avoid processed foods.

I found the diet was balanced for fat, carbohydrates and protein though the protein intake is below recommended limits. The calories averaged about 1200 per day. This should be enough for most people to lose weight but it isn’t for me. I normally only eat 1000 calories so I actually gained weight. It didn’t work for me as a diet but it is a healthy vegan maintenance diet.

Next week I am going to stay vegan but have smaller portions and cut the carbs.

Here’s hoping.

image

Breakfast: muffin with fruit

Leave a Reply

